Eric – African Grey – 1476

Bird Type: Companion
Breed: African Grey - Congo
Comes With Cage: No
Country: England
County: Yorkshire
City/Town: Whitby
Gender Preference: Male

Description

Hello fellow bird lovers,

Allow me to introduce myself – I’m Eric, a dashing African Grey with a few tales to tell. They say I’m quite the handsome chappie, and who am I to disagree? My history is a bit complex. I ended up with my safehouse mum because my previous owner passed away, and things got a bit chaotic. But that’s all in the past now, and I’m ready for a fresh start.

I may be a Grey of few words, but when it comes to whistling, especially the Addams Family theme I’m an expert and even do the clicks. I enjoy music and nothing gets me grooving like “Rock around the Clock.  I’ll have you checking your phone for messages with my spot-on imitations of various notification sounds. My safehouse mum says she knows there are more words in me but I’m keeping them to myself for now!

Now, let’s talk about my diet – fresh fruit and veggies have won me over, thanks to my persuasive safehouse mum. And let me tell you, birdy bread is now my all-time favourite treat. I don’t mind the occasional shower, but I do prefer a good spray from my human friend.

I’m a confident flyer and a bit of a nosy bird. If I want to be in a room, well, just close the door, and I’ll get the hint. My safehouse mum says that I’m not as destructive as I was rumoured to be, although I may nibble on the chair if no one is watching and I really enjoy shredding paper. Mainly I enjoy perching on the back of a chair, watching TV, or simply observing what’s happening around me. I’m fairly laid back, you see.

Now, let’s get into the important details. I’m a male-oriented African Grey, and I’m looking for an adult male in my forever family. Don’t get me wrong; I’m happy to let females feed and care for me. I’m not aggressive, but I won’t interact much – it’s just a preference. I’ve lived with dogs and cats before, so they don’t bother me. Just don’t bring any wooden poles too close to me – they scare me a bit.

I may not be the best ‘stepper-upper’ yet, but I’m trying to learn. I’ve got a calm temperament and love to chat away with my feathered friend Monty. The dawn chorus when my cover comes off is a daily delight, and you’ll often hear me say a friendly ‘hello’ in various voices.

My daily routine is pretty straightforward – fresh water, chop, snacks, fresh fruits, and seed. I enjoy my interaction time, usually from 4 pm onwards, and I put myself to bed at 9 pm, covered and cozy. I’m not a fan of long alone times, but my safehouse mum works from home, so I’m rarely lonely.

In terms of the perfect home, I’d thrive in an environment without small children. A busy or quiet household works for me, as long as there’s a male main person to be my companion. Part-time or work-from-home situations would be ideal, as I’m not used to long hours alone.

So, there you have it – that’s me, Eric, the African Grey in search of a loving home with someone special. If you think you’re the one for me, get in touch with Birdline, and let’s make beautiful melodies together!

Yours chirpily,

Eric

Additional information

Bird Type

Companion

Breed

African Grey – Congo

Comes With Cage

No

Country

England

City/Town

Whitby

Gender Preference

Male