Ollie – Orange Winged Amazon – 010421

Bird Type: Companion
Breed: Amazon - Orange Winged
Gender Preference: Either
Country: England
County: Hampshire
Comes With Cage: No


Hello. I am an orange winged amazon parrot with a mysterious past, who is looking for a forever home.

I was found a few weeks ago in a supermarket car park. My new name is Ollie and I am about 20 years old. Sadly, my old owners didn’t claim me and so Birdline know nothing about my history. I have been to an avian vet for a check up – and I have been given a clean bill of health.

When I was first found I was quite scared and sat in my cage and trembled a lot. Now I have toys to play with –some are made of wooden blocks on rope which I like to chew until the blocks fall off onto the bottom of the cage and some have bells that I can lift and ring with my claws and beak! I like to sit on the top of my cage and watch the world go by – looking out of the window, or just watching the family in the house. I sometimes climb all over the inside and outside of my cage and rattle the toys and occasionally go for a short flight and little explore in the room. I have chewed a basket I found in the room and a glove that was lying around but otherwise I just chew my toys. I have also found things I can pick up and drop – such as a bunch of keys – which is great fun.

I don’t like people touching me, but I will step onto a stick and I am much happier now with people around me. At first I used to move to the very back of the cage if people came near, but now I don’t mind people being really close and even accept people putting their hands in my cage to clean it. I have never bitten anyone, but will do a warning growl if they come too close. My confidence is growing and maybe I will be able to get closer to someone I am going to be living with for a long time, if they don’t rush me.

I am a good eater, and particularly like fresh fruit and vegetables. I am not keen on pear and plum but love apples and celery! I also like dried chilli peppers, nuts and toast as a treat. I also really like having a wash. I like being sprayed with warm water and I spread out my wings and turn round and round until I am thoroughly soaked and then have a really good shake – lovely.

I have started making a bit of gentle noise – chatting to myself and my new family and I only occasionally squawk for a few seconds if I get scared – or just fancy a shout! I then quickly settle down. I am quite active in the mornings and evenings and like to sit on my perch and have a little siesta in the afternoons. I am not sure about children and dogs, particularly if they are noisy but I am not aggressive – just sit quietly and wait for them to go away!
It would be lovely to have a new permanent home, where I could feel safe and secure and regain my confidence.

Additional information

Bird Type



Amazon – Orange Winged

Gender Preference






Comes With Cage