Ollie – Quaker Parrot (Monk Parakeet) – 090620 – Companion bird


Requirements – female primary carer

Bird Type: Companion
Breed: Quaker / Monk Parakeet
Comes With Cage: No
Country: England
County: Sussex
City/Town: _


Hi, my name is Ollie, I am a green Quaker Parrot. (Monk Parakeet).

I have not been in Birdline long and they do not know much about my history as I was found. I have been with my safe house for 3 months now and have done really well so far. I love coming out and joining in with whatever you are doing, I will happily sit with you all day. I adore head scratches from my safehouse mum. She will give me kisses and I will lean back in for more. I step up well for my safehouse mum but am not so keen on others in the house. I am a 1 to 1 bird and prefer females. I do get protective of my chosen person so ideally; I want someone all to myself. I do not mind others living there but do not want them too close, although I am getting better with this.

I love being out and sitting on your hand, shoulder, or head. I do like to preen my safehouse mum’s hair, I like to think I am helping.
I love bath time; I prefer a bird bath tray with warm water. I do need a bit of encouragement so mum plays with the water. I have been learning re-call training in the hall and in the aviary and I\\\\’m really good at it.

I am a bit insecure and don’t like it if my safe house mum walks away when I’m loose, so I do shout a bit when she walks away and I fly back to her. In time I might be able to occupy myself when I am out, but not yet. I can be a bit vocal when I am playing with my bell toys, but I am not offensively loud. I do love my cuddles and time out, not worried if you work if I have lots of toys to keep me busy whilst you are out. Not for long periods though.

I have recently appeared on the Jeremy Vine show for Birdline and mum says I was impeccably behaved. I sat with her patently having strokes and being a good boy. I can say “good boy” but that is normally when I am shaking my ball and playing.

I am a lovely bird and my safehouse will be sad to see me go as I am such a character, but it’s only right that I find my forever home and find my special female companion. I like being in the living room and watching tv with you and generally be involved with what you are doing. I am affectionate and have lots of love to give. Based in Sussex but happy to travel for the right female. Please understand that to start with I need time to settle.

Additional information

Bird Type



Quaker / Monk Parakeet

Comes With Cage