Monty – Quaker – 950617

Bird Type: Companion
Breed: Quaker / Monk Parakeet
Comes With Cage: Yes
Gender Preference: Either
Country: England
County: Kent


Hello, my name is Monty, and I am a fun loving blue quaker. At 7 years old, I’ve had my fair share of adventures. I spent a wonderful six years with my original mummy, but due to unforeseen circumstances, she had to let me go, hoping I would find love with another family. Now, I’m with my safehouse family, which includes some big grey parrots. We take turns coming out, and I’ve developed a special bond with my safehouse daddy. However, my safehouse parronts believe it’s time for me to find a forever home where I can receive more one-on-one attention and build a lasting relationship.

I enjoy the simple pleasures of life, like a refreshing bath in my water pot and a warm spray with the greys to keep my feathers in top shape. I’m a bit of a gourmet too – my safehouse mummy gets me special quaker food with a few tropical granules and a bit of puffed rice. For treats, a small cashew or a bit of special toast is always a delight.

Living with an old dog in the house is no issue; we’ve established our own living room territory. When the greys are out, I love sitting, preening, and observing them from my cage. I like to make my presence known through bird-human chats and singing, showcasing my clever side by saying phrases like “clever boy” and “Monty.”

However, there’s one thing to note about me – I crave one-on-one attention, and this can make me a bit nippy. Understandably, I’ve been through some changes, moving from home to temporary home, which has left me a tad scared and nervous around new people. All I need is time, patience, and love to help me settle in.

As for my health, I’ve had no known issues, and my routine is pretty straightforward. I wake up around 8 am, enjoy fresh chop and seed/water, and spend quality time with my safehouse family. Lights out is around 6 pm, ensuring I get a good 12 hours of uninterrupted sleep.

I come with my own cage, filled with toys and perches to keep me entertained. I particularly enjoy shredding toys and have a favourite perch at the back or on top of the hidey hole woven cave thing.

If you’re looking for a charming companion who appreciates the quiet, enjoys human interaction, and is willing to offer a bit of patience, I could be the perfect match for you. I would like someone who is home more than they’re out, as this is what I’m used to. Thank you for taking the time to read about me, and I hope to find my forever home soon.

Additional information

Bird Type



Quaker / Monk Parakeet

Comes With Cage


Gender Preference