Poppy – Senegal – 080121

Bird Type: Companion
Breed: Senegal
Comes With Cage: Yes
Gender Preference: Either
Country: England
County: London


Hey there, I’m Poppy, a spunky Senegal Parrot, and I’m here to share my feathered adventure with you. I may be 20 years old, but let me tell you, life is still full of excitement and surprises for me.

First, let me share a bit about my journey to this amazing parrot rescue. I used to live with an elderly couple, and I had a special bond with the male who sadly passed away. The elderly female couldn’t quite manage me on her own, and that’s how I found my way to Birdline. I was 18 years old when I arrived here and over the past couple of years, my new family has learned a lot about my behaviour, dietary preferences, and just how intelligent I am.

Health-wise, I’ve been doing pretty good, I’ve had a history of feather plucking, but they’re looking better than ever, and my weight has been stable. However, I did have a little hiccup with becoming egg-bound. I had to have an operation to help me pass that egg, and I’ve been getting hormone injections twice a year to prevent it from happening again.

I’ve been stepping up for my owners and other people, and I do enjoy human company. Curiosity is practically my middle name, and I’m always up for a bit of mischief. I like to sit in the kitchen and watch all the activities around me. I love to spread my wings and fly around the ground floor of the house, from room to room, and across the kitchen. Most of the time, I’ll fly to your hand if you ask nicely and if you stay still long enough, I’ll sit on your hand and have a lovely snooze.

I thrive on being engaged and the centre of attention, especially when I break out my whooping whistles. I do talk, but I keep it hushed and save it for special people – usually in the mornings when I want to give them a gentle wake-up call. Trust me, it’s hard to resist my charm! I enjoy playing “calling” games with my human friends, and there’s nothing quite like a good head scratch while I rest on their arm. Although, I’ll admit, I can get a bit screechy if I feel neglected – a parrot’s got to  have some attention, right?

One of my favourite pastimes is foraging in my tray and having a blast shredding rolls of paper towels. It’s like my own personal treasure hunt! And when I’m not busy with that, you can usually find me perched in the kitchen or by the window in the living room. I get about 4 to 6 hours of playtime outside my cage every day, but I do love a good afternoon nap. Oh, and I can’t forget to mention my amazing swinging skills – I’ll twirl around, especially when there’s music involved.

I’m pretty content in my rucksack, and I absolutely love going to the park, open spaces, and the seaside. I’ve even been known to strut my stuff in shops and coffee houses, though I might get a bit noisy – I can’t help it, I just want to be part of the action. And I must say, I’m an excellent traveller. I’m super quiet and content in the car, even on long journeys that take hours. However, I’m not a fan of noisy traffic or loud noises, and I’m not shy about letting you know!

My absolute favourite thing in the world: food! I’m a bit of a foodie, and I can’t resist joining my family at mealtime, hoping for a tasty treat. Walnuts, and fruit are my top picks, but I have to admit, I need a little encouragement when it comes to those pesky vegetables. Who can blame me, right? I’ll tolerate some veggies like cauliflower, carrots, and sweet potatoes. My vet recommended Nutriberries to help balance my nutrition, and I also get some sprouting seeds and freeze-dried veggies. My family tries to slip in the veggies I don’t love in the mornings when I’m hungriest.

When it’s time for bed, I usually hop into my cage around 6 pm, and my loving family covers me up at 7:30 to 8 pm. I sleep like a baby and usually get up around 10 am, ready for another day of adventure.

Recently, though, things have gotten a bit complicated. I seem to have over-bonded with the female adult in the house, and it’s causing some tension with the male who I have on occasion growled, hissed at and bitten. So, my family feel like I need a more experienced home who know how to handle my hormone driven behaviour. It would also be best if I was in a dog free home, as I display jealousy when I’m not getting all the attention.

So, that’s my story, dear friends. I may be a parrot, but I’m full of personality and quirks that make me who I am. I just love being out of my cage, soaking up the company, and enjoying positive interactions. And now, as I embark on a new chapter, I hope to find a forever home that can appreciate my unique charm and make room for a little parrot mischief in their lives. Thanks for joining me on this journey, and who knows, maybe we’ll cross paths someday!


Additional information

Bird Type




Comes With Cage


Gender Preference